Friends of Launde Abbey Committee

Friends of Launde Abbey :: Committee :: Friends Retreat :: Become a Friend

Friends of Launde Abbey Committee

Read the minutes of the latest Friends of Launde Committee meeting (8 October 2020) here.

The work of the Friends of Launde Abbey is coordinated by a committee who are actively involved in the life of the Abbey.

Brian Davis

Patrick Rendall

Jan Zientek

Rev’d Canon Brian Davis (Chair)

Brian has been Chair of Launde Friends since 2013, but has been involved at the Abbey for many years. He now arranges regular Sunday afternoon classical concerts in the chapel at Launde. He lives in Market Harborough and is Priest in Charge of the Gaulby Group of churches.

Patrick Rendall (Secretary)

Patrick Rendall is secretary to the Friends committee. After many years in the Army he has settled into retirement in Leicestershire. In addition to the Friends he chairs the governing board of a Church of England primary school and is vice chair of a veterans committee for the East Midlands. He is married to Frances who is also on the committee.

Sarah Longhill (Treasurer)

Sarah has been involved with Launde Abbey since 2002, firstly on the Management Committee and then as a Trustee . She is a retired Chartered Accountant and the Treasurer for the Friends.

Jan Zientek (Membership Secretary)

Jan is a lifelong member of the church, serving as Parish Secretary and other roles at St. Mary’s, Humberstone. He is a member of the Leicester Diocesan Synod and has a strong interest in church history and music. At Launde he has a particular interest in taking care of the rose beds reinstated by the Friends a few years ago.

The other current members of the Friends committee are:

  • Hon Mary Rose de Lisle
  • Jane Thornalley
  • Stephanie Preston-Hall
  • Bart Hellyer
  • Mary Rose Weston
  • Rachel Kellett
  • Ann Green
  • Frances Rendall
  • Miriam Stoate
  • Revd. Mike Playdon (Vice Chair)
  • Beverley Lott (Editor of Launde Leaves)
  • Jill Bruce

Ex-officio members serving the committee:

  • Madeleine Wang (Trustee representative)
  • Ven. David Newman (Warden of Launde)
  • Revd. Chris Watts (Deputy Warden of Launde)
  • Ian Andrews (Business Manager of Launde)

The Friends of Launde: Registered Charity Number 519042